Social Media Monday: Why blog?

by Brie

If you told me two years ago I would one day come to define myself as blogger I would have laughed in your face. Politely of course. At the time  I was technologically challenged and nervous about having any digital footprint out in the wide world of the internet. Plus, why would I write about my life online? It would be totally self-indulgent. And besides, no one would read it.

How wrong I was. I fell into blogging and bit by bit I have been “coming out” as a blogger. Part of the reason is that my online world and the real world have come to intersect so much as friends in one world become friends in another.

Why blog? There are as many different reasons for blogging as there are types of bloggers. In Ottawa alone you will see bloggers that run the spectrum. People blog about what they love, whether it be food, photographycrafting, weight lose or geekdom.  Many of us blog about our lives.  

For a mom with young kids reading about the struggles and joys of other moms with young kids changed my life. During those first few winter months after I discovered blogging  it made me feel less alone even as I spent day in and day out with a baby and toddler. It was a blog  post that convinced me to have my kids share a room. It was blog posts that  comforted me that other moms lived lives as busy and crazy as mine.

No matter why you chose to start blogging, one of the main reasons we all continue is for the connections. The connections we build with our readers and the authors of blogs we read. For parents these connections are so valuable. We can learn from people who have already lived through our stage of life and we can share with each other the struggles and successes of our kids.

Do you blog? What do you love about it? Do you want to blog? Tell us what scares you most about starting and we will try to address that it a future post!

Brie is the mom of a 4-year-old daughter “the girl” and 2 old son “the boy”. You can read her blog at Capital Mom.

10 Comments

Filed under Blogging, social media

10 responses to “Social Media Monday: Why blog?

  1. I’ve been blogging for four years. I love that it is a record of my parenting experience and plan to print it (soon). The bonus is the community of friends I’ve built up while blogging!

  2. I’m glad you blog, Brie. For the first few months of my pregnancy I felt a little isolated. I have my partner and friends, but no one in my immediate Montreal circle has a clue about babies. (Though ALL of my friends from my hometown, Ottawa are expecting right now!)

    I started my own blog about natural parenting, became more active on Twitter, and soon discovered a great online community of moms, doulahs, and activists around the world.

    Because we blog, we can all feel comfort and support that we can’t necessarily find from our next-door neighbours!

    Happy blogging ❤

    • Thanks Jenn.

      It really is a great way of connecting with other people that have the same interests as you. I have found that blogging has actually helped me make friends here in Ottawa with the same interests that I might not have met otherwise.

  3. Yup…I blog to. I blog about photography, cooking and crochet! I hardly have any followers, but I do know people do stumble upon my blogs – and it’s nice knowing I’ve passed on some information others find useful.

  4. Gil

    Yes I’m a blogger. I’ve blogged about infertility for the past four years and by doing so, I found a huge community of infertile bloggers and a marvelous network of support. With the birth of our (IVF conceived) daughter, I’ve been incorporating some parenting stuff into the blog, and we’re about to embark on another round of IVF for number 2.

    I started blogging simply as a way of venting my anger and frustration, and recording the process and pitfalls that Hubby and I were going through at the time. Having readers is a bonus for me, but I blog mostly for my own sanity! It’s just like keeping a diary, but it’s online. And in doing it online, you get to connect with lots of others who are going through the same thing you are. Those connections are a great resource… and lifeline when you need it.

    • Finding people going through the same thing as you, which might not be the case with your IRL circle of friends, is so important and one of my favorite things about blogging.

  5. Melissa

    I hesitate to categorize myself as a “mommy blogger” — I blog for myself and because I’m a parent some of that is naturally about my kids. Primarily, however, I blog as a way of reconnecting with myself, a way of holding myself accountable as a person, and to keep my brain agile. It has been a wonderful way to meet people and make new friends — no small feat when you’re a grown-up! 🙂

  6. mamad123

    I sort of blog. Thanks for the linky love….what I love best about blogging, handsdown, in the community I’ve made..mostly virtual through KindredCrafters, but real life through Losing it. It’s super fantastic to meet likeminded folks, either in real life or online. Thanks to all the great bloggers out there!!!

  7. After my elder daughter was born, I had to deal with some pretty severe post partum depression. I eventually found that getting myself out of the house helped, so while expecting our second I spent hours looking for things to do in Ottawa that were mommy/infant-friendly. I think I collected enough ideas to cover the next 6 children (too bad 2 is all I had planned).
    After sharing some of my lists with a couple of other expectant moms, I decided to start a blog, and perhaps eventually reach a broader audience. PPD sucks, and I hope that somewhere along the way I might help someone else avoid, or at least mitigate, its effects.
    Incidentally, through a combination of good luck, an easy baby, and perhaps even all that planning, I have now have two beautiful girls, aged 2 months and 22 months, and have never been happier. I think discovering such a great community of mommy-bloggers has helped, too :).
    As to what scared me most about starting, I’d definitely say the security/privacy aspect. My facebook account is locked down as tight as Fort Knox, and yet I wanted to blog?!?! I agonized for weeks about what to do about names (use the girls’ names but not mine, mine but not theirs, pseudonyms all around…). I’d be curious to know how others have dealt with this, too.

    • I was scared about the privacy thing too at first. I still don’t have pictures of the kids, well very rarely, on my personal blog. It felt weird using pictures here! And the kids go by “the girl” and “the boy” on the blog.

      I have found that the longer I do it the harder it is to stay private because I meet people in real life or email with them and they know my name and the kids names. They meet the kids even! Eventually I just found myself letting go a bit.

      But then I will still have days where it will feel strange to put so much out there.

Leave a Reply

