Question of the month #5: Favorite books

Kids in the Capital is all about parents in Ottawa helping each other out by sharing tips and advice. Each month we ask a parenting question and we want to hear all the gems of advice you have to share. Just leave your answers in the comments! And if you have a question you’d like to see be a future question, leave it in the comments too!

Question of the month #5: Favorite books

Now that kids are back in school it is all about reading, writing and arithmetic! As a family that loves to read, our house is filled with books. Some we’ve bought, some are gifts, some I need to return to the library before I get a fine. Despite all the books we have I am always on the look out for a great new book.

Do you have a favorite kids book? Do your kids have a favorite book that they want you to read over and over? We want to hear your recommendations for great books for kids of all ages!

20 Comments

Filed under Parenting tips, Question of the month

20 responses to “Question of the month #5: Favorite books

  1. Robert Munsch’s “Too Much Stuff”, Chicka Boom Boom, Duck in the Truck

  2. For the 7-9 year old boy crowd: Fantastic Mr. Fox by Roald Dahl, Jacob Two-Two and the Hooded Fang by Mordecai Richler and My Father’s Dragon by Ruth Stiles Gammett.

    Best book to get boys reading – Diary of a Wimpy Kid series hands down as well as Asterix, Tintin, and Calvin & Hobbes series.

    Best artistic books – Mixed Beasts and Alphabeasts by Wallace Edwards of Kingston. They’re awesome for about 5 and up especially if your child likes detail.

  3. Cath

    I’ve just been rediscovering the ‘my naughty little sister’ books, which were published in the 1960s (I think) in England. My four-year-old loves them, and reading them again with her has been magical for me.

    We love pretty much anything from Jan Brett (Annie’s Wild Animals, The Mitten, etc), The Gruffalo, Toad and Frog, Slinky Malinki, and Jillian Jiggs. Just recently discovered Oliver Jeffers as well.

    I also loved Enid Blyton as a child, and Anne of Green Gables of course (grew up in PEI) .

  4. I love kids’ books and I’ve been collecting them since before I had a kid, but if I had to pick one that most people haven’t heard of, it would be George and Martha by James Marshall. It’s a whole series about two hippos who are friends. And they are short, smart, funny and teach lessons. I even have George and Martha dolls. 😉

  5. My mom has a Masters in Children’s Lit, so I used to be surrounded by books, and it’s one of the things we’ve spent the most money on for our little girl. I’m even already buying YA novels that I loved for her.

    Right now I love reading the Dino sports series (Dino Hockey, Dino Soccer and Dino Baseball), the wording is fun and she loves the pictures.

    My sister gave us Blueberry Girl by Neil Gaiman when I was pregnant, and I think it’s an absolutely beautiful book to read to a little girl. I’m also becoming a fan of the Princess Smartypants series.

    • Richard Scarry’s Busytown series is a huge hit here, and has been for both my 3 and 4 yr old boys for at least a year.

      Interestingly, the Madeline books are very popular with my 3 yr old right now too.

  6. My 6-year old has been in love with the Geronimo Stilton series for the last year or so – can’t get enough of them!

  7. Oh there are so many, but I’m going to go with first chapter books. Our favourites were the Junie B. Jones books. Some people don’t like them for the bad grammar and bad behaviour, but they are seriously funny, and after I read them to my kids, they were the first chapter books that they wanted to try reading on thier own.

  8. The Kissing Hand by Audrey Penn. A perfect first day story. This is a story about a little raccoon ready to start school. He talks about his fears to his mother, fears that most children have before beginning school. His mother comes up with a wonderful solution to help her little raccoon remember that she loves him and is thinking about him, even when she isn’t with him. A wonderful and heart-warming story.

  9. Philippe

    Scaredy Squirrel and Chester, both by Mélanie Watt. Hilarious!

  10. Jackie

    We go to the library every week and there is nothing like the hunt for new great books. Some favs are anything by Munsch, pink/purplicious, anything by Pheobe Gillman (Jillian jiggs), Arthur series, Brady brady series.

  11. The Gruffalo by Julia Donaldson is a fav around here with both my 2 and 3 year old, also anything with Charlie and Lola, or a firetruck on the cover!

  12. Soha Kneen

    We have a few favourites at our house; top ranking at this point is Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone – I can’t believe our 4 year old has the patience to listen to a book without pictures, but we’re having a great time reading this book together. Other books that are on our most favourite reading list are:

    ‘Scaredy Squirrel at Night’ by Melanie Watt
    ‘The Lorax’ by Dr. Seuss
    ‘Puff the Magic Dragon’ by Peter Yarrow and Lenny Lipton (this one comes with a CD)
    ‘Simon With Two Left Feet’ by Angela K. Narth
    ‘Epossumondas Plays Possum’ by Coleen Salley (*a definite favourite!!!)
    ‘The Barefoot Book of Knights’ by John Matthews
    and ‘The Complete Adventures of Curious George’ by Margaret & H. A. Rey

    You can get most of these books at Octopus Books (our favourite independent book store!!!) in the Glebe!

  13. Soha Kneen

    Oh, we also love any of the Robert Munsch books!

  14. Joanne

    We are big fans of
    Villian Chien Marley by John Grogan and Richard Cowdrey (french version of Bad Dog Marley). John Grogan is the author of Marley and Me which I enjoyed. We have a great time reading his series of kids books over and over and we are amazing how our dog Jessie is just like Marley some days!!

  15. Joanne

    Oh and thanks Kids in the Capital for the great post.. I have added many of the books mentioned to my list for our next trip to the library!

Leave a Reply

