Question of the month #4 : Back to school

Kids in the Capital is all about parents in Ottawa helping each other out by sharing tips and advice. Each month we ask a parenting question and we want to hear all the gems of advice you have to share. Just leave your answers in the comments! And if you have a question you’d like to see in a future question, leave it in the comments too!

Question of the month #4:

It’s hard to believe the summer is almost done and that it’s time for back to school!

Many kids have a hard time with transition and back to school is a BIG transition.  Do you have any tips on how to ease kids back into school?

And there are many Kids in the Capital readers who have kids starting school for the first time this year. Do any of you veteran parents have tips on how both kids AND parents can get through this emotional and big milestone?

Lastly – do you have any favourite backpacks, lunchbags, school supplies, shopping tips, etc?  We’ love to hear them!

6 Comments

Filed under Parenting tips, Question of the month

6 responses to “Question of the month #4 : Back to school

  1. I really have no idea what to expect . I am nervous she will hate the bus or her class. The tranistion to preschool was hard so I am hoping for the best but resigned to the worst.

  2. Jay

    Every year we go through 2 backpacks per kid! I just invested in some backpacks from MEC. I’m hoping they stand the test of time!

    We talk about school all the time and about how great it is and how much fun it is. Meeting new friends, seeing old friends and hanging out with super fun teachers:) Luckily we haven’t had much of an issue.

    • Two backpacks? Wow, they must wear then hard. 🙂

      • Joanne

        They do go through backpacks!! We also go through 2 a year too! My daughter started school yesterday and now hates her messenger bag SHE begged me to buy. Now I am trying to find another bag for her – she is in grade 3 so she needs space for homework (which there will be a lot of because of provincial testing) and a lunch bag oh and it has to be cute or she won’t use it!

  3. I recently bought the “Balanced Day Lunch kit” and I love it. I found myself cramming in lunch items and snacks into her old lunch box and barely closing the zipper until I found this. It cleans super easy – folds nicely for storage and has two big pockets on each side (marked 1 and 2) – especially made for the balanced day school program – with ample room. I never fear my little one will be hungry as there is always room to add a little extra. I bought mine at boomerang kids – but I see its available at other locations too. More info here.

    http://www.balanceddaylunchkit.com/

Leave a Reply

