Melonhead

by Lara

Kiernan has needed a haircut for awhile. But between the move and all the colds that have been plaguing us recently if I asked him if he wanted to get his hair cut and he said no I decided it wasn’t worth a battle.

Yesterday we decided to have dinner at Place d’Orleans and I decided to try again as we walked by Melonhead. He was intrigued and agreed that yes, he would get his hair cut, sitting in the Nemo plane.

I was a bit nervous because we took him there when it first opened (he was about 2) and we didn’t have a great experience. I also know people who haven’t had good experiences. But really, what it comes down to is the stylist, and we got a great one this time! Her name was Chelsea and she was patient with Kiernan when he got nervous and kept leaning forward, when he was wiggling all over the place and not fully cooperating, and she gave him what I think is a really nice cut!

She even went along without batting an eyelash when I stuck the babies into the plane with Kiernan.


And the other chairs provided great entertainment for the babies while we waited.


Quinn was having a blast in his sports car/airplane!


And all kids get to have a ponyride at the end of the experience which Kiernan kindly shared with his brother.


The haircuts aren’t cheap: $20 + tax + tip. Again, I can’t recommend the place all the time, but Chelsea was great and I think the money was worth the fun they had while we were there!

Lara is the mom to 3.5 year old Kiernan and 10 month old twins Quinn and Juliette. You can find her at her blog Gliding Through Motherhood.

9 Comments

Filed under Services

9 responses to “Melonhead

  1. don’t they just look like real little boys after haircuts? i agree that melonheads is fun, but not somewhere you can go often. the price is a little extreme. though considering the terrible hair cut the bean got the last time at the local barber, i’m tempted to try melonheads again!

    • I think it’s worth the amusements and distractions from time to time. I still want to try cutting the kids’ hair myself, but my husband won’t let me 😉

  2. Stephanie

    I’ve heard some not so great comments about it too, and we don’t live in the east end, so I doubt we’ll ever try it. For westenders, try Goobers in Kanata. Bree is the stylist we got and she was FANTASTIC (hope she;s still there, my son is due for haircut #2). It’s also cheaper. It was 12$ + tax/tip for a first haircut that included a cute little “first haircut” card with a lock of hair in a baggie.

    • Good to know! Thanks Stephanie.

      I ended up taking my kids to Melonhead too for their first haircut because I didn’t know where else to go and wanted someone who could deal with a crying 18 month old the whole time. And he did cry the whole time too. 😦 Not even a lollipop helped.

      Maybe we will have to write about Goobers next. Want to write the post for us. 🙂

      • Stephanie

        LOL I’m not much of a writer, so you’ll have to make do with my comment. Seriously. Not good at it. But thanks for the offer 🙂

  3. OMG that photo of the baby standing in the place is ADORABLE!

    We live in Kanata and have had a bad experience at Melon Heads as well. Like you say, I think it all depends on the stylist you get. Right now my boys are rocking some longer doo’s and I need an experienced stylist to manage them! They are my rock stars!

  4. Annie

    Always had good experiences at Melonhead in terms of my 4 yrs old “cooperating” – she’s always captivated by what’s playing on the TV so she never really fussed (we’ve been going every 3 months or so since it opened). Only once or twice the stylist’s skills weren’t to my satisfaction. We ended leaving with crooked bangs or layers I didn’t ask for! But she doesn’t work there anymore!

  5. Pingback: Salon Mom: Cutting your own kids hair « Kids in the Capital

  6. Pingback: Salon Mom: Cutting your own kids hair | Kids in Cowtown

Leave a Reply

